2023 Helmut Esau Prize: Congratulations Sarah!

Sarah Lease (University of New Mexico) is the 2023 Helmut Esau Award recipient for her paper “A usage-based account of paregogic /e/ in 20th century New Mexican Spanish”. Her work has been selected to receive the award after a review of all high-quality submissions received.

This award is named in honor of Helmut Esau, who was active in the early days of LASSO. Professor Esau died in an automobile accident shortly after he was elected to the LASSO presidency, and his colleagues at the time established the Esau Award to commemorate his contributions to the Linguistic Association of the Southwest and to the profession at large.

Students must first present at the Annual Meeting and then submit a revised, polished version of their paper to the LASSO Vice President. Recipients of this prestigious prize receive a $400 cash award.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *